Documentation

Community

Developers

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 3:20 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Some advice in tuning for catted downpipe
PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2017 3:48 pm 

Hey guys,

First of all I'd like to thank all of the nice people in this forum providing so many "How-to´s", Guides and a lot of bits of information which really helped me to get any idea of ECU tuning. :D

I'm new to this and haven't really done any ECU tuning in the past. I mostly worked with bolt-on parts and/or went to a professional tuner. I recently got my hands on a USDM 2006 STI which was giving me headaches with CELs caused by a faulty EVAP valve. So I got myself a Tactrix cable to disable this pesky CEL code, without having really the intention on tuning the car with it. But after seeing how easy it was to read, edit and flash a ROM I got curious and started a bit of digging.

I would like to start of my deeper learning process with what I think is a rather easy modification. I intend to get the Invidia catted downpipe for my STI to complement my Invidia Q300 catback exhaust. I read that boost spikes/overboosting can be an issue when adding a 3" downpipe and removing the restrictions of the OEM ceramic cats. Meaning the car needs to be tuned for it, so this mod can safely unfold its potential. :mrgreen:

Can someone point me in the right direction from where to start on editing the ROM to account for a bigger, catted downpipe :?:

Some car facts:

03/2006 USDM STI
ECU A2ZJE11J
Exhaust: Invidia Q300 cat back and future Invidia Downpipe
No other engine mods

Post subject: Re: Some advice in tuning for catted downpipe
PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2017 5:17 am 

read, read, read again and you'll do OK - start with how the boost control system works:
http://www.romraider.com/forum/topic1814.html