Open Source ECU Tools
 FAQ •  Register •  Login 

RomRaider

Documentation

Community

Developers

It is currently Sat Feb 17, 2018 7:11 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Lean Spike on Tip-In- How to track down?
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2017 12:14 pm 

Hi guys,

I have a 2002 WRX EJ205 engine that has a lean spike issue I am trying to understand. I'm fairly new to tuning, so please bear with me if I say something on the not-so-smart side of the scale.

Problem description:
Any sort of sharp throttle transition, be it from idle or from holding at midrange RPM, whether under cruise load or free revving, will show a lean spike before fueling returns to proper ratio. For example, blipping the throttle while at idle will produce a split second spike from 14.5 to ~17 AFR before it corrects and richens up. Both the stock O2 sensor, and a wideband sensor I have added, match up with readings, and the engine audibly bogs and hesitates on transitions even when free-revving. Steady cruising, as well as AFR at WOT or anywhere else in open-loop with a steady pedal, show perfectly normal AFR's. Idle is steady, vacuum gauge shows rock solid 20 inches vacuum.

Engine description-
-Non-AVCS JDM EJ205 using all US sensors, cam/crank gears, TGV's, intake, etc...
-Stock airbox
-Using stock WRX 420cc blue injectors.
-Using Perrin parallel fuel rails and stock FPR
-Fuel pump is a brand new walbro 255
-Engine compartment fuel filter is new
-No fuel flow issues when free flowing into a bucket
-Aftermarket downpipe and catless exhaust

Engine Diagnostic steps taken-
-Checked for vacuum leaks using carb cleaner and propane, none detected.
-Put a block-off plate in place of IACV- no change to lean spike
-Changed out all injectors for a second set- no change to lean spike or behavior
-Verified fuel pressure in the lines to be 42PSI directly before the FPR with an inline gauge.

Tuning steps taken- Starting with a 100% stock map
-Have CL to OL delay set to zero.