RomRaider Logo

RomRaider

Open Source ECU Tools
 FAQ •  Register •  Login 

RomRaider

Documentation

Community

Developers

It is currently Mon Jun 27, 2022 3:46 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 46 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: ecuMem: ROM\RAM read utility
PostPosted: Sun Apr 14, 2013 10:33 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 2:31 pm
Posts: 1606
Location: Moscow, Russia
Start 100000 Length 060000 for WA12212940 chip.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ecuMem: ROM\RAM read utility
PostPosted: Sun Apr 14, 2013 10:38 pm 
Offline
Experienced

Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 11:36 pm
Posts: 410
Location: Barbados
Sasha_A80 wrote:
Start 100000 Length 060000 for WA12212940 chip.


I will do that. But with 040000, I getting FF, but here is the rom with 020000


Attachments:
[1604240705-A11009] 100000 2013-04-14 22h20m37.bin.zip [71.06 KiB]
Downloaded 578 times


Last edited by west_minist on Sun Apr 14, 2013 10:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ecuMem: ROM\RAM read utility
PostPosted: Sun Apr 14, 2013 10:44 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 2:31 pm
Posts: 1606
Location: Moscow, Russia
This is a complete ROM image.
WA12212920 processor.
This ecu is prone to permanently fail during reflash.
Over\undervoltage protection circuit burns the chip out in the case of drained battery\poor or power\ground connectors.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ecuMem: ROM\RAM read utility
PostPosted: Sun Apr 14, 2013 10:50 pm 
Offline
Experienced

Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 11:36 pm
Posts: 410
Location: Barbados
Well I have from logging see how the AVCS work. I now understand that part so that I can install the Hydra EMS when I can.

But I now have to go through the rom and see what I can find. Its so different to post 2000

Other than that, I don't even know how to reflash. lol


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ecuMem: ROM\RAM read utility
PostPosted: Mon May 20, 2013 6:11 am 
Offline
Experienced
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 7:56 am
Posts: 418
Does some one know / tested, if ecuMem-Tools works on WIN7-64bit ?

I still work on XP SP2, but I was asked about this

Jochen

_________________
performence based on engineering..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ecuMem: ROM\RAM read utility
PostPosted: Mon May 20, 2013 9:30 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 2:31 pm
Posts: 1606
Location: Moscow, Russia
It may need proper driver additional settings something like WaitTime=1ms for FDTI chip.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ecuMem: ROM\RAM read utility
PostPosted: Mon May 20, 2013 12:02 pm 
Offline
Experienced
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 7:56 am
Posts: 418
So no way for a enduser use ?
Or is there a chance the develloper will make it work on WIN7 ?

Otherwise RomRaider SSM-Tool can do the job, but it is quite slow

_________________
performence based on engineering..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ecuMem: ROM\RAM read utility
PostPosted: Mon May 20, 2013 12:21 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 2:31 pm
Posts: 1606
Location: Moscow, Russia
I personnally never heard problems with ecuMem under Win7\64.
Applicable 64bit driver is a must.
CDMxxxx_Setup.exe from FTDI fills the bill.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ecuMem: ROM\RAM read utility
PostPosted: Mon May 20, 2013 2:02 pm 
Offline
Experienced
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 7:56 am
Posts: 418
Sounds good, we will give it a try :D

_________________
performence based on engineering..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ecuMem: ROM\RAM read utility
PostPosted: Fri Dec 27, 2013 11:38 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2013 4:03 am
Posts: 9
using kkl vag-com for 409.1 cable, the app doesn't seem to load the com port. clicking on the dropdown doesn't open the list.
Attachment:
rom_pull_nocom.jpg
rom_pull_nocom.jpg [ 41.57 KiB | Viewed 11581 times ]


is it the same as running the romraider's SSM tools for reading? What will be the output of this SSM tool? just copy and paste the results ? (I haven't waited to let the process finish)
Attachment:
ssm_read.jpg
ssm_read.jpg [ 19.09 KiB | Viewed 11581 times ]


Any ideas? Cheers

m


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ecuMem: ROM\RAM read utility
PostPosted: Sat Dec 28, 2013 12:53 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 2:31 pm
Posts: 1606
Location: Moscow, Russia
It should be the same provided "Block Read" is checked.

Probably you have assigned COM4 to another application allready running.
ecuMem is tested under Windows XP/Windows7, probably you are running Windows8 or Microsoft Framework.net is not installed properly.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ecuMem: ROM\RAM read utility
PostPosted: Sat Dec 28, 2013 5:36 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 4:17 pm
Posts: 47
I see CH340 which is a different serial to USB chip found in some of the VAG-COM cables. I got one by mistake and it doesn't appear to communicate through the drivers the same way as the FTDI chip. Just a thought..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ecuMem: ROM\RAM read utility
PostPosted: Sat Dec 28, 2013 6:33 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2013 4:03 am
Posts: 9
Sasha_A80 wrote:
It should be the same provided "Block Read" is checked.

Probably you have assigned COM4 to another application allready running.
ecuMem is tested under Windows XP/Windows7, probably you are running Windows8 or Microsoft Framework.net is not installed properly.


Win 8.1 64bit. Not assigned to the used port. Might be the OS or cable drivers..

pyro6314 wrote:
I see CH340 which is a different serial to USB chip found in some of the VAG-COM cables. I got one by mistake and it doesn't appear to communicate through the drivers the same way as the FTDI chip. Just a thought..


That would make sense. I got this from ebay and comes with the CH340 drivers and that's the only driver the RomRaider is able to connect to ECU. If I install FTDI drivers, romraider is unable to connect to ECU.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ecuMem: ROM\RAM read utility
PostPosted: Sat Dec 28, 2013 7:01 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 2:31 pm
Posts: 1606
Location: Moscow, Russia
I have tested WinChipHead CH340 driver under XP, Win7/32, Win7/64.
I doubt there is a driver for Windows8.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ecuMem: ROM\RAM read utility
PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2014 3:37 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2013 4:03 am
Posts: 9
I've tried with the KKL cable with the FT232RL chipset, but even with the drivers for win8.1 the app couldn't see any comports. I have all the .net frameworks installed. Seem like I'd have to get a vmware with some XP/win7 on it.

UPDATE: Installed virtualbox, got the xp virtual machine from microsoft, installed the drivers for the cable, and EcuMem connected no problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 46 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Style based on FI Subsilver by phpBBservice.nl